Skip to content
Home >> Main Service Areas >> Drug Office

Main Service Areas

Drug Office

The Drug Office is the law enforcement agency over the legislations concerning medicines. It also provides for the procurement and dispensing of medicines at the clinics of the Department. Headed by Assistant Director (Drug), the Drug Office comprises 5 divisions:

  1. Pharmacovigilance and Risk Management
    Responsible for the market surveillance of medicines, risk assessment as regards to ADR (Adverse Drug Reaction) reports and complaints of drugs, and the enforcement of the Undesirable Medical Advertisements Ordinance (UMAO).

  2. Traders Licensing and Compliance
    Enforcing the Pharmacy and Poisons Ordinance, the Antibiotics Ordinance and the Dangerous Drugs Ordinance through inspection and licensing of manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers; and sampling of products for analysis and institution of prosecutions against offenders.

  3. Drug Registration and Import/Export Control
    Assessing applications of the registration of pharmaceutical products on the basis of their safety, efficacy and quality; and processing the import/export licensing of pharmaceutical products.

  4. Clinic Service and Business
    Managing the supply of medicines in the clinics of the Department; designing and planning the Drug Office in new projects; conducting research and development work for the improvement of the quality standards of the clinic dispensing service; and conducting the evaluation and selection of medicines for use in the Department of Health.

  5. Administration
    Providing administration support including personnel, finance, office equipment, facilities and accommodation to the Drug Office.

For more information about the Drug Office, please visit This link will open in a new window

  Last Revision Date : 14 Oct 2011