Skip to content

Main Service Areas

Chinese Medicine

The Chinese Medicine Regulatory Office of the Department of Health is, among others, responsible for :

  • the enforcement of the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, which was passed by the Legislative Council on 14 July 1999. The Ordinance provides for the regulation of the practice of Chinese medicine practitioners and the use, manufacture and trading of Chinese medicines.
  • providing professional and administrative support to the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong. The This link will open in a new windowChinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong, established under the Chinese Medicine Ordinance in September 1999, is responsible for implementing regulatory measures for Chinese medicine.
  • serving public health functions which include providing professional input for investigation and response management of adverse events related to use of Chinese medicines, communicating and collaborating with stakeholders in Chinese medicine field for prevention and control of disease and providing public education on Chinese medicine.
  • establishing the Government Chinese Medicines Testing Institute (GCMTI) to specialise in the testing of, and scientific research on, Chinese medicines with a view to setting internationally recognised reference standards for the safety, quality and testing methods of Chinese medicines. Under GCMTI’s purview, the Hong Kong Chinese Materia Medica Standards (HKCMMS) Section manages and co-ordinates the HKCMMS project, which is for the development of standards for some commonly used CMM. With the release of the "HKCMMS Volume 10" in December 2020, ten editions of HKCMMS covering standards for a total of 330 CMM have been published. For details, please visit the following hyperlink: This link will open in a new windowhttps://www.cmro.gov.hk/html/eng/useful_information/hkcmms/cmmlist.html .
This photo demonstrates pamphlets issued by Chinese Medicine Regulatory Office This photo demonstrates Chinese Medicines Herbarium in the Government Chinese Medicines Testing Institute

For more information about the Chinese Medicine Regulatory Office, please visit This link will open in a new windowhttp://www.cmro.gov.hk.

2 Jun 2021

跳至主要内容

主要服务范围

中医药

卫生署中医药规管办公室的职能包括:

  • 执行《中医药条例》,此条例已于1999年7月14日由立法会通过。条文内容主要包括规管中医的执业及中药的使用、售卖和制造的措施。
  • 这连结会以新视窗打开。香港中医药管理委员会提供专业及行政支援。根据《中医药条例》,香港中医药管理委员会已于1999年9月成立,负责执行中医药的规管措施。
  • 负责有关公共卫生的事务,包括就中药不良反应事故的调查及处理提供专业意见、在预防及控制疾病的工作中,与中医药业界持分者保持沟通合作,并提供中医药的公众教育。
  • 设立政府中药检测中心,专责中药检测科研,为中药安全、品质及检测方法建立国际认可的参考标准。中心辖下的香港中药材标准组,负责管理和统筹中药材标准研究计划,为一些常用药材发展和制订标准。随着《香港中药材标准第十册》在2020年12月公布,十册《香港中药材标准》已经出版,涵盖了330种中药材的研究结果和标准。详情请参阅以下连结:这链接会以新窗口打开。 https://www.cmro.gov.hk/html/gb/GCMTI/hkcmms/cmmlist.html
这图片展示由中医药规管办公室制作的小册子 这图片展示政府中药检测中心内的中药标本馆

有关中医药规管办公室的更多资料,请浏览这连结会以新视窗打开。http://www.cmro.gov.hk

二零二零年十二月二十二日