Skip to content


Home

Home >>Useful Information >> Radiation Health FAQs

Useful Information

 
 
 

Radiation Health
FAQs
(Based on available information as at 14 April 2011)

 
   

1. What is INES?

Answer: The International Nuclear and Radiological Event Scale (INES), introduced jointly by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Nuclear Energy Agency of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD/NEA), is a worldwide tool for communicating to the public in a consistent way the safety significance of nuclear and radiological events.

Events are classified on the Scale at seven levels. Levels 1-3 are called "incidents" and Levels 4-7 "accidents". Those without safety significance are called "deviations" and are classified as "Below scale" / "Level 0".

The international Nuclear and Radiological Event Scale

 
   

2. There are many so called "radiation antidote" on sale in the market, are they useful?

Answer: There is currently no effective radiation antidote. Iodide tablets are the only pharmaceutical product that provides some form of protection against radiation effects by preventing the uptake of radioactive iodine by the thyroid gland. Iodide tablets should not be used unless it is recommended by a competent public health authority after professional analysis of the emergency situation. There is no scientific evidence to suggest that other commodities, be they foods, drinks, topical products, etc, would have similar radiation protective effect.

 
   
3. How can you cope with the psychological stress arising from the present event?

Answer: Events like the current Japan earthquake, tsunami and nuclear power plant accident can prove traumatic to some, causing them to have feelings of helplessness, anxiety, anger and even aggression. The following may be helpful –
a) try to follow a normal routine;
b) eat healthy meals, especially take care not to skip meals or overeat;
c) exercise and stay active;
d) help other people in your community as volunteers. Stay busy;
e) accept help from families, friends, colleagues. Share your feelings with them; and/or
f) limit your time around the sights and sounds of what happened. Do not dwell on reports on the tragedy.

However, it is well known that some will take a while before they will feel better and for their life to return to normal. "Give yourself time."

For individuals with the following conditions and whenever in doubt, it is advisable to ask your healthcare professionals for help -
a) not able to take care of yourself or your children;
b) not able to do your job;
c) use alcohol, drugs or substances of abuse to get away from your problems; and
d) feel sad or depressed for more than two weeks.

 
   
4. What is the current risk of radiation-related health problems for those people staying in Japan?

Answer: Radiation-related health effects are exposure-dependent. In turn, the latter are affected by the type and amount of radiation released from the nuclear power plant; the weather conditions; the proximity to the plant as well as the length of exposure.

Based on available information, Department of Health concurs with the World Health Organization's assessment that the Government of Japan's recent actions in response to events at the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant are in line with existing public health recommendations for protection against radiation exposure. However, as and if the situation changes, the Japanese Government may change their advice to the public. Department of Health is following the situation closely.
 
   
5. What is the current risk of radiation-related health problems for those people living in Hong Kong?

Answer: The distance from Hong Kong to Fukushima is around 3000 km. As there is strong dilution effect due to the current climatic situation and the long distance, the current risk of radiation-related health problems to people living in Hong Kong is considered to be very minimal. In any case, the Government is closely monitoring the situation in Japan and assessing its impact on Hong Kong.

 
   
6. How may people be exposed to ionizing radiation?

Answer: People are exposed to the natural radiation in the environment (background radiation). Apart from this, they can commonly acquire radiation externally through skin deposition, medical procedures such as X-ray or internally through breathing or eating. People can be exposed to ionizing radiation through contamination of wounds.

 
   
7. What is the meaning of Sievert (Sv)?

Answer: Radiation dose absorbed by human body are expressed in units of Sievert(Sv). On average, a person is exposed to approximately 3.0 mSv/year (1 mSv = 1/1000 Sv) of which, 80%(2.4mSv) is due to naturally-occurring sources (i.e. background radiation), 19.6%(almost 0.6mSv) is due to the medical use of radiation and the remaining 0.4% (around 0.01mSv) is due to other sources of human-made radiation.

In some parts of the world, levels of exposure to natural radiation differ due to differences in the local geology. People in some areas can be exposed to more than 200 times the global average.

 
   
8. What type of radiation exposure would occur in a nuclear plant accident?

Answer: A nuclear plant is safe when it is functioning properly. It causes risk to the health of people only when there is an accident involving damage to the nuclear reactor causing leakage of radioactive materials, mostly radionuclides. Radioactive materials in the reactor core may be released into the atmosphere with a mixture of products generated inside the reactor ("nuclear fission products"). Radioactive caesium (Cs-137) and radioactive iodine (I-131) are the most abundant radionuclides that may be released into the atmosphere during an accident. The severity of the risk so caused will depend on the geographical and weather situation of the nuclear plant and the amount and type of radionuclide released.

 
   
9. What are the acute health effects of radiation exposure?

Answer: If the dose of radiation exposure exceeds a threshold level, it can produce acute health effects such as skin redness, hair loss, radiation burns and acute radiation syndrome. However, the general population is not likely to be exposed to doses high enough to cause these effects. Rescuers, first responders and nuclear power plant workers are more likely to be exposed to doses of radiation high enough to cause acute effects.

Acute radiation syndrome is a set of signs and symptoms that may develop after whole-body doses above 1 Sv (i.e. about 300 times the annual dose to background radiation). It is mainly related to the damage of the bone marrow, where the blood cells are produced. At higher doses (>10 Sv), other organs may be affected (e.g. gastrointestinal, cardiovascular).

 
   
10. What are the possible long-term effects from radiation exposure?

Answer: Exposure to radiation can increase the risk of cancer. Radioactive iodine can be released during nuclear emergencies. If breathed in or swallowed, it will concentrate in the thyroid gland and increase the risk of thyroid cancer. The risk of thyroid cancer following radiation exposure is higher in children and young adults.

In very extreme situations, such as among Japanese atomic bomb survivors, the risk of leukemia increased a few years after radiation exposure, whereas the risks of other cancers increased more than 10 years after exposure.

 
   
11. Can radiation spread from person to person? Would contaminated persons transmit the radiation to me/ my fetus ?

Answer: Unless one was in the close vicinity of the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant, otherwise, the chance of radiation exposure could only be minimal. For whatever small amount of contamination, it would usually be sufficient to wash away the radioactive contaminants by changing clothes and rubbing with soaps and have showers.

 
   
12. I just travelled back from Japan and did not go to the health desk for radiation check-up, if I feel uncomfortable now, where can I go?

Answer: People who still have doubts about their health can go to the Accident and Emergency Department of any public hospital for medical advice.

 
   
13. Does a person who is suspected to have radiation exposure need to be sent to the hospital?

Answer: People who still have any doubt about their health can go to the Accident and Emergency Department of any public hospital for medical advice.

 
   
14. Can eating salt or applying iodine solution onto the body surface prevent or treat radiation-related injury?

Answer: There is no scientific evidence that eating salt or applying iodine onto the body surface can prevent or treat radiation-related injury. 85% of salt available in Hong Kong is not iodized and the iodine content of iodized salt is low. Moreover, one has to take about 2.5 to 5 kilograms of iodized salt a day in order to absorb the equivalent dose of iodine that is contained in an iodide tablet. Consuming an excessive amount of salt is harmful to health especially for those with high blood pressure, heart disease or kidney disease. Applying iodine solution onto body surface may cause skin irritation.

 
   
15. I am now staying in Japan, should I take iodide tablets?

Answer: Iodide tablets are not radiation antidotes. They do not protect against external irradiation or any other radioactive substances besides radioactive iodine. When there is a nuclear plant accident, iodide tablets are given to people likely to be exposed, especially nuclear plant workers and rescuer, to saturate their thyroid glands so as to prevent the uptake of radioactive iodine released from the accident. The drug must be given before or shortly after an exposure for the prevention of thyroid cancer in the long term. It is a universal consensus among the World Health Organization and all leading public health authorities that only after professional analysis of the emergency situation will a competent public health authority be in a position to recommend the use of iodide tablets.

 
   
16. Will it affect my baby's health if I switch to another brand?

Answer: Standard infant formula milk is essentially cow's milk based and manufactured with reference to the nutritional content of breast milk. As manufacturers have to adhere to international or national standards of infant formulae, they are very similar in composition.

In general, healthcare professionals would not recommend parents to switch their babies to another brand for minor problems. Yet, if there are genuine needs, switching to another brand should not affect babies' health.

It is, however, important that parents ought to choose the appropriate formulae for their babies. Specifically, for children-

a) from birth to 6 months –
For babies taking cow milk-based infant formula (for 0-6 months), you can change directly to another brand of cow milk-based infant formula. However, you should not switch to high protein "follow-on formula" (for 6 months or above) as this will overload your baby's kidneys, leading to dehydration, gastroenteritis and even brain damages;

b) 6-12 months –
You can continue to feed your babies with infant formula (for 0-6 months) or follow-on formula (for 6-12 months).

At around 6 months, babies should start to take complementary foods. In the beginning, milk still remains as the main source of nutrients. However, when your children consume substantial amounts and varieties of other foods, the amount of milk intake can be decreased gradually. Regular cow's milk is not recommended for infants less than 1 year old;

c) 1 year or beyond –
By 1 year old, your children should be enjoying a balanced diet, with a good variety of solid foods that replaces milk as the main source of nutrients. Your children can drink whole (full-fat) milk, such as chilled pasteurized cow's milk or UHT milk;

d) on special formulae –
You should seek advice from attending doctor, nurses, midwives or dietitians.

 
   
17. How exactly should I change my baby to another brand of formula milk? Is there anything I need to pay special attention to?

Answer: Different brands of formula milk have different dilution methods. Therefore, it is definitely against recommendation for parents to mix two or more brands of milk powder when preparing one feed.
There is actually no fix rule on how to switch formula milk. The pace will depend on individual baby’s acceptance. As the taste of different formulae does differ, it is not unexpected that some children may need more time to adapt. Parents can increase the number of feeds of the new brand gradually. If everything goes smoothly, you can adopt a faster pace until all feeds are replaced by the new brand.
Another piece of advice: Parents may notice a change in their children’s bowel habits, whether in terms of frequency, texture and/or colour of the stool. This is accountable and acceptable as the amount of additives like iron, prebiotics, etc, does vary amongst the different brands. Parents should not be over-worry and try to switch to a third brand. In fact, if children do not have allergy to the original cow milk-based formula, it is unlikely that they will develop allergy on switching to another cow milk-based formula.

 
   
18 .Can I drink the tap water in Japan?

Answer: In response to concerns about the safety of drinking water in Japan, World Health Organization (WHO) advised that drinking tap water poses no immediate health risk, but local conditions will differ and may fluctuate. Essential hydration of infants should not be compromised in an attempt to reduce radiation exposure. WHO urges people in the area to heed the advice of local authorities, as they will have access to the latest measurements of radiation levels in water to compare against the standards for adults and children. These standards are precautionary and the presence of some degree of radioactivity in tap water does not mean that it is unfit for human intake. Short term consumption does not pose a significant threat to health because it would take long-term exposure to these levels of radiation to generate adverse health effects.
 
   
19. Will vessels, airplanes included, and cargoes from Japan be radiation-contaminated as a result of the nuclear power plant accident?

For radiation health protection, the most fundamental principle is control at source. In this regard, it is reassuring to learn that the Japanese authority has already imposed a no-entry zone for transport of 30km from the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant. This means that vessels can only travel in air or water space that is considered free of harmful levels of radioactive contaminants.

Indeed, the International Civil Aviation Organization, on behalf of respectively the International Atomic Energy Agency, the International Maritime Organization, the World Health Organization and the World Meteorological Organization, has issued a joint statement on the continued safety of international transport operations in Japan. These five organizations confirmed that at present, there is neither the need to impose other restriction on Japan for normal international transport operations or screen vessels or cargoes leaving the country.

Afterall, given that the infrastructure and logistics in Fukushima and its vicinity is severely damaged by the earthquake, the tsunami and the ongoing nuclear accident, and the top priority there is on rescue and relief, it is most unlikely that cargos are being packed and leaving from such high risk areas.

 
   
20. What protective gears are required for workers handling cargoes from Japan?

Before addressing the question, one must understand how people get exposed to radiation. We can do so either from sources outside or inside of our body.

In the present case, external irradiation can be produced when radioactive materials, whether as aerosol, dust or liquid become attached to the skin or clothes.

However, unless a cargo has come from the evacuation zone in Fukushima and without proper decontamination, the risk of cross-contamination from such a piece has to be very remote, if any.

Besides, external contamination can be dealt with by change of clothes or covering, and washing off with water and soap.

Internal contamination may result from breathing in, swallowing radioactive materials or through contamination of wounds. Again, it is highly unusual for a cargo handler to acquire internal contamination by handling cargoes. This low risk can further be controlled by diligent observation of personal hygiene.

Specifically on personal protective clothing, good protective practice requires that the degree of protection ought to commensurate with the degree of risk.

As the risk of exposure for cargo handlers in Hong Kong is assessed to be almost negligible, it follows that no special personal protective equipment is indicated.

Nonetheless, the importance of good personal hygienic practice cannot be over-emphasised. This includes timely hand washing and change of uniforms, and showering after work. Workers should report to their supervisors if they detect anything suspicious or are in doubt.

 
   
21. Where can we get up-to-date information?

The Department of Health is monitoring developments in Japan carefully in order to assess its impact on public health. Information on this site will be updated whenever necessary.

 
   


Last Revision Date : 14 Apr 2011

跳至主要内容


主页

主页 >> 有用资料 >> 放射卫生常见问题

有用资料

 

放射卫生
常见问题
(至2011年4月14日的最新资讯)

 

1. 甚麽是国际核与辐射事件分级表(INES)?

答案:国际核与辐射事件分级表(分级表)是由国际原子能机构(IAEA)和经济合作与发展组织核能机构(经合组织/核能机构)共同推出,分级表是一个适用於以一致的方式向公众解说核与辐射事件的全球性工具。

事件被划分为七个级别,当中级别1-3称为「事件」而级别4-7称为「事故」。 那些没有安全顾虑的情况称为 「偏差现象」,并分类为「低於本表级别」 /「零级」。

国际核与辐射事件分级表

 
2. 在市面上有很多的所谓「辐射解毒剂」在售卖,它们是否有用?

答案:碘片是一种能提供一些辐射保护,以防甲状腺吸收放射性碘的药制品。它并非「辐射解毒剂」。碘片不可随便服用,只可在主要公共卫生当局专业分析紧急情况後,在当局的建议下才可服用。现时并无科学证据指其他用品如食物丶饮料和外涂产品等有类似的辐射保护作用。
 

3. 如何处理此事故引起的心理压力?

答案:最近日本的地震,海啸及核事故,可能使一些人心灵受到创伤。引起无助感丶焦虑丶愤怒甚至攻击行为。以下的方法有助纾缓这些压力症状:

 * 尽可能维持正常的生活
 * 吃健康的食物
 * 不要忘记进食或暴饮暴食
 * 常做运动及保持活跃
 * 在社区当义工帮助其他人,令生活充实
 * 接受家人,朋友或同事的帮助,与他们谈谈你的感受
 * 不要过度收看/收听有关事故的报导

可是,有些人将需要一段时间,才会好转和回复正常生活,所以要给自己一些时间。

如果你有怀疑或出现以下情况,便要向医护人员寻求协助:

 * 无法照顾自己或你的孩子
 * 无法做你的工作
 * 使用酒精丶药物或毒品,以摆脱自己的问题
 * 感到伤心或沮丧多於两星期
 

 
4. 辐射对於现居於日本人士的健康会造成甚麽影响?

答案:辐射相关的健康影响取决於暴露状况。而後者是受核电厂释出的辐射种类和剂量丶天气情况丶与核电厂之间的距离及暴露时间所影响。

根据现有的资料,卫生署认同世界卫生组织的评估,认为日本政府最近就第一福岛核电厂事故的反应符合现有辐射防护的公共卫生建议。然而,如及若情况出现变化,日本政府可能会更改向公众提出的建议。卫生署正密切跟进事态发展。

 
5. 辐射对於现居於香港人士的健康会造成甚麽影响?

答案:福岛距离香港约3千公里,由於现时的天气情况和日本和香港的远距离将造成强烈的淡化辐射效果。所以,香港受直接的辐射影响机会轻微。香港政府会密切监察日本的情况,及评估它对香港的影响。

 
6. 人们如何接触到电离辐射?

答案:人类会暴露於大自然环境的辐射(背境辐射) 当中。除此之外,人体可经附在皮肤表面的放射性物质丶医疗程序如X光等而受到外部辐射,亦可经呼吸或进食而受到内部辐射。人体也可通过伤口污染而感染到电离辐射。

 
7.「希」是甚麽?

答案:人体吸收到的辐射剂量可以用「希」为单位。平均来说,一个人接触到的辐射量大约为每年3.0毫希(1 毫希 = 1/1000 希),其中有80%(2.4毫希)属於天然来源(背景辐射),19.6%(0.6毫希)的辐射由医学使用造成,剩馀的0.4%(约0.01毫希)由其他来源的人为辐射造成。

世界上某些地区接触天然辐射的程度因当地的地质情况不同而异。某些地区的人接触到的辐射,可能是全球平均水平的200倍以上。

 
8. 发生核电厂事故时,人们会暴露於那类辐射?

答案:核电站正常运作时是安全的,当意外涉及反应堆破损导致放射性物质,主要是放射性核素泄漏时,才会产生影响健康的风险。反应堆内产生的放射性混合产物(核裂变产物)可能会向周边地区释放。对健康具有风险的主要放射性核素为放射性铯和放射性碘。对健康风险的严重性要视乎核电厂的地理位置,当时的天气情况及泄漏的是甚麽放射性核素和泄漏的剂量。

 
9. 暴露於电离辐射对健康有何急性影响?

答案:当辐射剂量超过一定的数值时,就可能带来直接健康影响,如皮肤发红丶脱发丶辐射烧伤以及急性辐射综合症。但是,一般市民接触到造成此类病徵的高剂量辐射的机会很低。救援人员丶首先抵达现场者及核电站人员大有可能接触到高剂量辐射,造成急性影响。

急性辐射综合症是全身受到的辐射剂量超过1希(即大约为每年受到背境辐射剂量的300倍) 时可能出现的一组症状和体徵。这主要与产生血细胞的骨髓受到损伤有关。当受到的辐射剂量更高时(>10希),可能会影响其他器官(如肠胃丶心血管)。

 
10. 暴露於电离辐射对健康有何长期影响?

答案:暴露於电离辐射可增加患癌症的风险。出现突发核事故时,可以释放出放射性碘,如将其吸入或食入,放射性碘将沉积在甲状腺并增加患甲状腺癌的风险。儿童和年轻人患甲状腺癌的机会更高。

在非常极端的情况下,例如日本原子弹爆炸幸存者中,患白血病的风险在原爆後数年上升,而患其他癌症的风险则在原爆後十多年才上升。

 
11. 辐射会否在人与人之间传染? 受污染的人会否传染给我/我的胎儿?

答案:除非人们曾到过日本福岛核电厂附近,否则接触到辐射的机会很小。如果沾到微量的辐射污染物,只要更换衣物,并以水和普通肥皂洗擦身体已可以清除。

 
12. 我刚从日本回来,没有在机场的「日本抵港旅客卫生台」接受辐射检查,现在感觉不适,我应该怎办?

答案:如市民回港後仍担心身体健康,可到公立医院急症室求诊。

 
13. 是否需要把怀疑受到辐射污染的市民送到医院?

答案:如市民回港後仍担心身体健康,可到公立医院急症室求诊。

 
14. 服用食盐或在身上涂抹碘酒能否预防或治疗辐射所引致的损伤?

答案:现时并没有科学证据显示服用食盐或在身上涂抹碘液,能有效预防或减低辐射的损害。八成半在本港出售的食盐不含「碘」,而含碘食盐内的碘含量亦很少,再者,每日要进食二点五至五公斤含碘食盐,才有相当於一粒碘片的剂量。相反,服用过量食盐会影响健康,尤其是患有高血压丶心脏病或肾病的人士。此外,涂抹碘液有可能引起皮肤敏感。

 
15. 我现在身处日本,我是否须要服用碘片?

答案:碘片并非辐射解毒剂,不会抵御外来性的辐射,亦不会为放射性碘以外的任何其他放射性物质提供保护。如发生核电站事故,碘片会分派予有机会受辐射影响人士,尤其是核电站工作人员及救援人员,用以饱和甲状腺,防止吸收因事故释放出来的放射性碘。该药物须於发生辐射事故前或事後短期内服用,长远来说有助低甲状腺癌风险。世界卫生组织及其他主要公共卫生当局的普通共识是,碘片只应在当局经过分析紧急情况後,才会由专业建议服用。

 
16. 替婴幼儿转奶粉牌子,是否会影响他们的健康?

答案:标准婴儿配方奶粉大多以牛乳提炼,和参考母乳的营养成分加工而制成。制造商生产奶粉,一般要符合国际标准或生産商所在地的婴儿奶粉标准。因此,市面上的婴幼儿配方奶粉,成分均大同小异。

一般而言,医护专业人员并不鼓励父母轻易因小问题乱转奶粉。但如真的有需要替婴幼儿转换其他牌子的配方奶粉,亦不会影响他们的健康。

然而,家长必须选择适合孩子的配方奶粉。具体来说,当孩子为

甲丶 初生至6个月:
现已饮用以牛奶制成的「初生婴儿配方」奶粉,可直接转用其他牌子牛乳制成的「初生婴儿配方」奶粉。切记不可食用高蛋白「较大婴儿配方」,因为高蛋白奶粉对新生婴儿的肾脏会造成负荷,亦可能引致脱水丶肠道炎丶甚至脑受损的情况。

乙丶 6-12个月:
可选择初生至6个月「初生婴儿配方」或6-12个月「较大婴儿配方」。当婴儿到约6个月大,便应开始引进固体食物。初期,奶仍是主要的营养来源,但当孩子进食固体食物分量逐渐增加及多样化,吃奶量便可逐步减少。全脂牛奶并不适合12个月以下的孩子。

丙丶 一岁或以上:
到了一岁,多样化及均衡的固体食物已可代替奶成为主食,为孩子提供各种营养素。孩子可饮用全脂牛奶,如冷藏的鲜牛奶或以高温消毒的全脂牛奶 (UHT纸包奶)。

丁丶 饮用特别配方奶粉:
应由医生丶护士丶助产士或营养师按个别情况建议使用。

 
17. 家长如何正确地替孩子转奶粉?转奶粉时需要注意什麽?

答案:不同牌子的奶粉一般有不同的冲调方法,因此,我们并不建议家长以两款或以上不同牌子的配方奶粉混合冲调。

转换奶粉的过程并没有硬性规定,只要视乎宝宝接受新口味的程度来调节。因个别奶粉有不同的味道,有些孩子可能需要多些时间来适应。家长可慢慢增加新粉奶的餐数。若孩子能接受,便可加快增加新奶粉的餐数,直至把旧奶粉完全取代。

家长替孩子转用其他配方奶粉时,可能会发现孩子的大便次数丶质地及颜色有所改变,这是因为不同牌子的奶粉的添加成分(例如铁质丶益生素等)会略有不同,这些都是正常的现象。家长无须过份担心或再转换其他牌子配方奶粉。事实上,若孩子对最初饮用的牛乳配方奶粉没有过敏反应,转用其他牌子的牛乳配方奶粉是不会引致过敏反应的。

 
18. 我应否在日本饮用自来水?

答案:有关日本食水的安全问题,世界卫生组织的建议是,饮用自来水不会构成即时健康风险。但是,日本各地区的情况并不完全相同,亦可能会随时间而变化。在试图减少辐射感染之馀,必须兼顾婴儿基本需要的水份,以不致出现脱水。

因为日本当地政府能够掌握最新的水中辐射水平,及将其与成人和儿童的安全标准作比较,所以世卫建议身处日本的人士应注意当地政府的指引。日本政府采用的标准是预防性,自来水中存在少量的辐射并不代表不适宜饮用,一般来说,短时间的饮用不会对健康构成显着威胁,要长时间饮用才会对健康做成不良的影响。
 
19. 从日本来港的飞机丶船只及上载的货物会否受核电站泄漏的辐射污染?

从放射卫生防护的角度,最重要的基本原则是控制源头。就此,一个足以安心的信息是日本当局已实施福岛核电站周边三十公里范围为禁区,意谓飞机及船只只能於放射性物质污染水平达至无害的区域航行。

事实上,国际民航组织代表着国际原子能机构丶国际海事组织丶世界卫生组织及世界气象组织已发出联合声明,指该五个组织确定现时无须限制日本正常的国际运输操作或检测从日本离开的飞机丶船只或上载的货物。

毕竟,由於福岛及其邻近地区的基础设施和物流因地震丶海啸,以及正发生的核事故已遭受严重破坏,当地的急务是进行营救行动及处理核事故,因此这些高风险区域应不可能有货物被包装及输出。

 
20. 处理货物的人员在处理由日本输入的货物时,需要采用什麽保护衣物呢?

在解答这个问题前,我们首先要了解辐射可以分别从体内及体外两个途径对人体造成照射。

就目前的情况而言,当放射性物质(包括气雾丶尘埃或液体)接触到皮肤或衣物,就会造成体外辐照。

不过,除非该件货物来自福岛的撤离区域而又没有适当地去除污染,货物受到外在辐射交叉污染的风险,即使有的话,也是相当低。

再者,体外的辐射污染能通过更换衣服和遮盖物,及用清水和肥皂清除。

体内在的污染可能来自吸入丶吞下放射性物质或通过伤口进入身体。然而,从业员由处理货物导致体内辐射污染的机会也是很罕见的。而这个甚低的风险也可藉着严守个人卫生而进一步减低。

个人防护装备及正当的处理方法,应合乎相对应的风险。

由於风险评估显示,由日本输入的货物导致从业员,因工作关系而受到辐射污染的风险是微乎其微的,所以从业员并不需要采用特别的防护装备。

尽管如此,从业员不容忽视良好的个人卫生。良好个人卫生包括勤洗手丶更换制服,及在完成工作後洗澡。工友如发现任何可疑的情况或有任何怀疑,应向上司报告情况。

 
21. 我们可以从哪里得到最新的资讯?
卫生署正密切留意日本的事态发展,以便评估其对公众健康的影响。如有需要,我们会随时更新这个网站的资讯。


修订日期 : 二零一一年四月十四日